Day #28 Where’s The Beef?

I was kind of a slacker yesterday. I think I had an adrenaline hangover from the midterm the day before. I didn’t even make it to CrossFit. I know, complete and total slacker. I did however, get some time in the kitchen.

Yea…

Lunch

Sauteed chicken breast, carrots (and purple carrots), and brussel sprouts with bacon

I usually blanch, or steam my veggies before I saute them. In this case I steamed the carrots and brussel sprouts so that I am pretty much just warming them up and adding a little color in my pan while I season them. I seasoned the brussel sprouts with salt, pepper, and some white wine. The carrots are seasoned with salt, pepper, and fresh dill.

Dinner

I don’t eat a lot of beef. Not because I think it is unhealthy, but because I only eat grass-fed beef and it is kind of pricey sometimes. Well, I picked up a little treat from the Farmers market…

Yep, Grass-fed goodness courtesy of Flying Mule Farm.

Fun Fact of the day: London Broil is not a cut of meat…it is actually just a cooking process. What you are really getting when something is labeled London Broil is usually top round roast. Oh, and they have no idea what a London broil is in London. Yep, Americans just love to make this stuff up. 🙂

Here is another fun fact: Dogs go crazy for grass-fed beef. I think there is something different in the way it smells when its cooking compared to corn-fed beef. That should say something right?

Good thing there is a glass door between me and this hungry pup..I hadn’t even started cooking it yet.

There was a huge watermelon taking up space in our fridge so for the purpose of creating some more storage space I decided to use it up by making a gazpacho…

Watermelon Gazpacho

Along with the watermelon I used 1/2 serrano pepper, 1 tomato, 1/4 cup red onion, olive oil, dill, and a mix of apple cider vinegar and balsamic vinegar. Red wine vinegar would of been ideal but I was out. I just blended the pepper, tomato, onion, dill, and watermelon up in the blender until smooth and then added the vinegar, salt pepper,  and oil, to taste. After it I seasoned it to my liking, I placed it in the fridge to chill for a bit and served it topped with more dill, coconut milk and olive oil.

For the london broil: I marinated it with a mixture of balsalmic vinegar, coconut aminos, garlic, olive oil, and italian herbs. I didn’t want to make a liar out of the name so I broiled it in the oven until it was medium-rare. I served it with a side of mashed sweet potatoes and asparagus. Yum 🙂

What is your favorite cut of beef?

1 comment
  1. Cindy said:

    My favorite is prime rib, filet mignon, or ribeye. Your dinner last night was yummo!!

Leave a Reply

