Day #27 Respect Your Food

I almost feel relaxed today…compared to yesterday at least. As you might have read yesterday, I had my written and practical midterm for my baking and pastry class. We had to make biscuits, spritz cookies, a pie, and soft yeast dinner rolls in only a whopping 3 hours….and for the results:

My pie is kind of a hot mess....

I passed! My biscuits are pretty sexy, as are my rolls and cookies…my pie on the other hand, well… its a bit of a hot mess. -1 point. The pie was supposed to be a double crusted apple pie, but the chef decided to go with a cranberry apple pie with a streusel topping instead. How pretty can streusel really get? Okay, its still pretty ugly but it tastes better than it looks. (or so I was told :p )

Onto the real food!

Breakfast

Sometimes you just need some good old bananas and eggs to start your day.

Yep, bananas and eggs. Had to start the day off right…

Lunch

Canned salmon, avocado, bell pepper, mango, salsa, and olives with red wine vinegar.

Quick and easy…

Dinner

Shredded chicken and salsa, sauteed cabbage, avocado and mango.

Thanks to my roommate ( ehem* my Mom…:p ) there was some left over shredded chicken breast upon my return home. ( just chicken and salsa cooked in a slow-cooker all day and then shredded ) I was more than happy to take the rest of the chicken and placed it on top of a bed of sauteed cabbage, mango, avocado, and top it with some more salsa. Definitely quick and easy.

Despite the days of quick and easy meals I am not always about the quick and easy. ( that’s what he said ). I respect my body by putting good food into it, but I also want to make sure that I respect the food. I enjoy taking my time in the kitchen. Sometimes time doesn’t always allow for it, but cooking is not always about shortcuts and convenience. When time does allow, don’t be afraid to take your time in the kitchen, put on some music, relax, smile, live in the moment, and enjoy it.

Happy Cooking!

3 comments
  1. Molly said:

    your midterm sounds like an afternoon at grandma’s house! well done on those sexy biscuits and glossy buns. chicken and salsa in the crockpot is one of my faves, but recently I forgot to put it in the crockpot early in the day and tried to make a quickie stovetop version – blech! the slow cooking is the secret. I definitely agree about taking time in the kitchen, I just wish someone would clean up after me!

Leave a Reply

