Day #19

Yesterday was not only Day #19 of more paleo food, but it was also “Meatless Monday”. I was reminded by a teacher from the Art department of our school who came in asking the culinary students for assistance in a Meatless Monday poster they are putting together. The poster will showcase different types of pizza…different types such as vegan, meat lovers, etc. etc. I feel a rant coming on but I will try and keep it short and sweet.

Having been a vegetarian for quite some time I was a big advocate for Meatless Monday….”it’s just one day out of the week!” I’d say….Yes, true. Certainly anyone can survive a day without meat, or even 5 years ( not optimally of course ) …but I think I have had enough meatless Monday’s for a lifetime. I have a bit of a beef with meatless Mondays. The meatless Monday campaign promotes that “By cutting out meat once a week, we can improve our health, reduce our carbon footprint and lead the world in the race to reduce climate change.”The problem I have with this is that although it may be saving some people from eating industrialized meat, it is most likely sending them to the nearest “meat substitute” made of GMO soy, corn, etc…which is the same stuff they feed those animals that you are “not eating”on Monday. So in reality, instead of eating meat fed GMO soy, it is being fed to you. Yum. Eat up.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not completely against meatless Monday’s. If people are going meatless yet sticking to real foods without the soy and meat substitutes than that’s fine by me. If it helps people to become more aware of the food they are buying and eating than I would consider that a pretty awesome accomplishment. However, I’d say that being a responsible omnivore by buying organic local food, grass-fed beef..etc. etc. everyday could have a bigger impact than just one meatless day. What do you think?

Maybe a Grass-fed Tuesday would be more effective…

Onto the food!

I started off my meatless Monday the right way…with bacon.

Breakfast

Scrambled eggs, bacon, sweet potatoes, and sauerkraut

I love sauerkraut. Don’t judge me.

Lunch

Canned Salmon, avocado, tomato, mango, green onion, and balsamic vinegar

Nothing like a good salad for lunch. Oh and its easy…

Dinner

Canned salmon and left overs with a side of sweet potatoes

I was pretty busy baking some more gluten bombs at school today so I didn’t get home till late. Canned salmon and left-overs it was! ( stir fry left overs ). Oh and a side of sweet potatoes because I wanted something sweet that wasn’t as sweet as these….

Found my inner house-wife

Happy Grass-fed Tuesday?

1 comment
  1. Cindy said:

    Wow….want to see some of those pies at home!! Hey, totally get your thoughts on “meatless” Mondays and possibly making those persons participating in it pushing them into the GMO soy/corn, etc. Make sense to me. Now, where’s my piece of bacon! 😛

Leave a Reply

