Day #17

It’s day 17 and I am not only loving food these days but I am also loving the weather. It is almost hot out… I love it. It is nice to be able to step outside without a jacket, and I think I might have even gotten a slight sun-tan burn. Yesterday I started my day off with a run in my Vibrams…it has been awhile since I have gone for a run in them. ( the freaky looking gorilla feet shoes a.k.a. barefoot shoes if you are not familiar ). Running barefoot ( or nearly barefoot ) is quite liberating, I forgot how good it felt. Hopefully naked won’t become the new barefoot..my feet are ugly enough. You can most definitely take the whole primal/paleo thing a little too far.

Breakfast

scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and chives, sweet potatoes, and Raw Sauerkraut

Yesterday I discovered that smoked salmon tastes amazing with scrambled eggs. You should definitely try it if you haven’t already. I topped it with some chives ( wish I had dill actually ) and a side of sweet potatoes and raw sauerkraut. Looking at this dish in the eyes of the culinary world,  I wouldn’t normally serve my sweet potatoes like this to anyone else..but if you haven’t noticed I like them well done…and my patience for breakfast is abnormally low. Potatoes = blast pan with high heat, throw in the potatoes, cover with lid, and let them cook while I make everything else. I guess my “preference” is more of an excuse for neglect. 🙂

Lunch

pan fried salmon with sauteed asparagus, sauerkraut and an avocado tomato salsa

I pan fried some salmon with a little Penzy’s Arizona Dreamin spice and threw some asparagus in the pan with it. I served it over some sauerkraut and topped it with a tomato and avocado salsa.

I have been kind of missing Asian food lately, and if you didn’t know soy sauce has both wheat and soy in it. Both a Paleo no no. However, I did a little research and found this little gem of a product…

Coconut Aminos

It is basically a paleoified soy sauce. No soy, gluten, dairy, GMO free… heaven. It tastes a lot like soy sauce but its actually made out of fermented coconut sap. It is a little different I will admit but it is similar enough to suit any stir fry craving. I had to try it out!

I started off by making a marinade for my chicken. I mixed together some olive oil, coconut aminos, lime juice, garlic, raw honey, and ginger and marinated my chicken in it for about an hour in the fridge.

Then for the good stuff. Cauliflower egg fried rice, and zucchini noodles in my new wok.

Step 1

Saute your onion and peppers in a bit of coconut oil until tender, then add your garlic, ginger cauliflower, and coconut aminos. Saute until the mixture absorbs most of the coconut aminos.

Make a well in the center of your pan and pour in a couple of beaten eggs. ( I used a whole head of cauliflower that I had put through my food processor.) Mix continuously until the egg has set and been fully incorporated into your rice. If it looks soggy, keep it on the heat, and keep stirring it until the eggs set up and the “grains” look more separate

Your rice will look something like this when done. Make sure to taste it and adjust seasonings with salt and pepper…etc. Use your intuition, add or subtract what you like.

For the noodles I added in some bell pepper, onion, broccoli, mushrooms, garlic and ginger.

Onion, bell pepper, broccoli

First saute your onions, bell pepper, and broccoli in some coconut oil until tender.

Add mushrooms

Add in your mushrooms and saute until slightly browned. Then add in your garlic and ginger.

Add in your noodles. ( I know it looks like a lot but they shrink! ) Saute for about 30 seconds and then add in some coconut aminos.

Saute your noodles until tender, but not soggy. No one likes a limp noodle…

Adjust your seasonings to taste and serve!

Marinated chicken with mango sauce, over cauliflower rice and zucchini noodles

Along with the chicken I made a mango sauce similar to the one I made for lunch the other day only this one included mango, cilantro, onion, garlic, lime juice, white wine vinegar, and ginger. Just blend all the ingredients up in a blender, season to taste and serve with your chicken.

Not too hard right?

Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

