Day#16

I woke up to a little surprise this morning. I am sore. Not in the usual I “worked out my triceps and biceps yesterday” kind of sore..but like in an “everything is sore and I can’t specify any exact muscles” kind of way. I am sore from about the neck down. I love it. As you may have guessed I went to CrossFit again yesterday. It was much harder than the first day but it felt amazing afterwards. I haven’t been pushed that hard since my high school soccer days. I know it seems weird but I haven’t had one long run that seemed as hard as a high school soccer practice. Not even those 20 mile long runs seemed as hard. It was nice to be pushed to that level again. Can’t wait for some more! Onto the food!

Breakfast

One of the two usual breakfast's of choice

Bored of this breakfast yet? I actually switched it up this morning a bit…stay tuned.

Lunch

Roasted Chicken with mango sauce, sauteed cabbage and roasted cauliflower

For lunch I just sliced up a little left over roasted chicken sauteed some cabbage and then roasted some cauliflower seasoned with smoked paprika, cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper. The mango sauce ( which could also be mistaken for nacho cheese ) is just a few mangoes pureed with some coconut milk, white wine vinegar, garlic, and paprika. I probably would of opted for some lime juice in the sauce but I was fresh out.

Dinner

Pan fried salmon and asparagus with a mixed salad

If you think about it, salads are kind of amazing. They are quick and easy, yet nutritious. Normally you have to sacrifice nutrition for quick and easy but not when it comes to salad. With just a little prep work and a protein you are done in no time. Salmon is probably my favorite protein. Both to eat and to cook…it also has skin that tastes pretty darn good…if it is crispy that is. I pan fried my salmon and then tossed it over some sauteed asparagus, mixed greens, radishes, avocado, bell pepper, and olives. I made a balsamic vinaigrette to go with it simply because the balsamic vinegar was already conveniently sitting in front of me, but feel free to dress your salad as you wish.

What are you cooking up this weekend?

Leave a Reply

