Paleo Day #11

Not only is it Day #11 of paleo food but it is also officially spring!

Sunshine!

Getting to go on a morning run in the sun was pure bliss…almost as blissful as my weird breakfast…

Breakfast

Lazy breakfast day

Lunch

Shrimp salad with mango, bacon, tomato, avocado, radishes, and bell peppers

I didn’t have my morning bacon so I was kind of craving it by lunch…I cooked up some bacon in my cast iron skillet and then sauteed the shrimp in the rendered bacon fat, seasoned it with salt, pepper, and Penzy’s Arizona Dreamin. I always say that to me, a salad is like a stew… I just throw whatever I have on hand into it. In this case it was avocado, tomato, mango, radishes, and bell pepper. I think I had more things thrown into it than lettuce…oh well, it was a hearty stew. Yum.

Dinner

Bun-less burger with caramelized onions, sauteed mushrooms, bacon, avocado, and tomato.

Upon further examination of this photo I am a bit ashamed of my apparent love for mustard. Yep, I love mustard, I can’t help it. I can’t get enough of it’s tangy goodness. For whatever reason sunshine and warmer weather always brings burgers to mind so I went out and bought some grass-fed beef and made a burger sans the bun. Still delicious. I also used the opportunity to put some sauerkraut on top, and roasted some sweet potatoes. Only problem with the sweet potatoes was that with this new oven we have, 500 degrees is actually 500 degrees…they got a bit toasty if you can’t tell..but hey, they still tasted good. Cheers.

2 comments
  1. Your salad looks amazing. Shrimp with mango had to be delicious. Great pictures!

    • Shrimp and mango… or mango with anything is my favorite combo haha 🙂 those little yellow mangoes that are in season right now are amazing. Oh and thank you!

Leave a Reply

