Day in Paleo Food #3

It’s day number three in the life of Paleo food. Pretty simple so far right? Think you could handle giving Paleo a try? Well, here is day number three’s food….

Breakfast

Scrambled eggs, and bananas with almond butter. I know, weird combo but I love it. I could eat it everyday. Heck, I practically do. Try it, I dare you.

Breakfast is probably my ugliest meal of the day….I get up before the sun does so don’t judge my scrambles. They are ugly as sin but not bad for my pre-caffeinated state of mind. How much easier can breakfast get? Scramble up some eggs, slice up some bananas slather on some almond butter and your done! Paleo…hard? I think not.

Post-run Snack? 🙂

I can't resist cookies...especially post-run. However, they are semi-paleo.

I may have snuck a few cookies between breakfast and lunch… want the recipe? Bet you could never guess what is in them…

Lunch

Chicken Salad: Sauteed boneless-skinless chicken thighs with salt, pepper, and Penzy's Arizona Dreamin Spice. Organic Spring mix lettuce, cucumber, tomato, bell pepper, green onion and mango. I probably would of added in some Avocado as well but I am waiting for them to ripen up 😦 The Dressing: Extra virgin Olive oil, and Balsamic Vinegar.

 

Salad is great for when you are in a hurry. Especially if you have some protein cooked ahead of time. You can even make the whole salad ahead of time. Easy peasy.

Dinner

chicken over braised red cabbage with a coconut curry sauce. The curry sauce had coconut milk, chicken stock, carrots, celery, red bell pepper, onion, garlic, tumeric, cumin, garam masala, and garnished with a little cilantro.

One head of red cabbage goes a long way so I decided to use the other half in tonight’s dish. Cabbage holds a special place in my heart… I could eat it everyday. If you want to try it for yourself, this is what you should do:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

Heat some coconut oil in a pan

Add a good amount of sliced red cabbage ( it will shrink down significantly )

Season with salt and pepper

Add in a few Tbs. of raw honey

Then add a bit of apple cider vinegar ( about 2-3 Tbs. )

Stir to coat and season to taste.

Place in the oven until nice and tender/caramelized and delicious.

Tomorrow is Easter! I’ve got a few things special on the dinner Menu for tomorrow. What are you cooking?

2 comments
  1. I do want you to know that eating cabbage and eggs every day might not bode well for your romantic future… 😉

    • haha you might be right about that 😉 For now…that is okay by me!

Leave a Reply

