Around The World

Wow it has been awhile since I have been able to post a blog. The good news is that I am not dead, I haven’t stopped cooking or blogging, I just haven’t had internet for two months. *Gasp* I know… it was rough I am not going to lie. So in my involuntary internet hiatus I purchased a new cookbook from the PX here in Germany called One World Vegetarian Cookbook. One glance at this cookbook and I knew I had to have it. It wasn’t just another vegetarian cookbook filled with cookies, muffins, lasagna, mexican casseroles, and mock meat. It is a cookbook filled with recipes that contain real whole vegetarian food. The way it should be. Since the book contains recipes from all over the world, I thought I would start off with Thailand…Ladies and Gentlemen I present to you….

Phad Thai
Ingredients:
about 6-8 oz of rice noodles
1 pack of firm tofu, diced
1/2 cup peanuts chopped/ crushed ( I used spanish roasted because it is all I could find ) yay commissary
2 eggs, beaten ( optional )
1 onion, sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 green chili, de-seeded and chopped
1 inch piece of fresh ginger, grated
1 red bell pepper, sliced finely
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
4-6 scallions or green onions, sliced
1-2 Tbs. cilantro, chopped
1 cup bean sprouts ( if you can find these in the produce section check the Asian section, I found them canned ).  
1/4 cup soy sauce
juice of 2 limes
1 Tbs. brown sugar
Peanut oil or other high heat oil such as coconut, or canola.
Directions:
Start off by prepping all of your veggies first. Slice the Bell pepper, onion, mince the garlic, chop the chili pepper, and grate the ginger. Prepping always makes the cooking process less hectic and less messy in the end 🙂
1. Bring some water to a boil and add the noodles: cook for 5-10 minutes until soft. Drain.
2. Meanwhile, fry the diced tofu in a wok or a saute pan until golden; set aside. If you were able to find raw peanuts then lightly toast them until they just start to brown. If you could only find roasted like me…go ahead and skip this step.
3. If using the eggs, heat some oil in the pan and, when hot, pour in eggs and make a light omelet. Cook for a few minutes until it sets and then remove and set aside. Cut into thin strips.
4. Next, saute the onion, garlic, chili, ginger, and bell pepper for 2-3 minutes. When the onion is soft, pour in the peanut butter and mix well. Then add the noodles and stir them in.
5. Next add the cooked tofu, scallions, bean sprouts, omelet strips, and half of the cilantro. Heat through, stirring.
6. In a bowl, mix together the soy sauce, lime juice and sugar. Pour over the noodles and stir to blend in the sauce. Scatter the peanuts and remaining cilantro on top before serving.
2 comments
  1. Krista said:

    Looks delish! Can't wait to try it!

  2. patty said:

    Very nice! Do you have a favorite cook book you'd recommend for the novice cook?

Leave a Reply

