Placer County Real Food “Shoots R Us” ( Vegetarian Version)

shoots r us meal

I find myself falling more, and more, in love with the Placer County Real Food cookbook. Nothing compares to the feeling of preparing and eating fresh food from the Farmer’s Market. The Farmer’s market has turned into a bit of a scavenger hunt experience. I now enjoy going there with a list in hand excited to get started on whatever adventure the book will bring me to cook for the evening. Yesterday, I even found myself shopping side by side with the author herself.

Last week I shared every recipe with you..but since I want you to buy the book, this week I will only be sharing the menu and the recipe for my vegetarian option.

So now onto last nights meal…

Pea Shoot Salad with Citrus Vingarette

Shoot's R Us 1

Pan Seared Butterfish with Cherry Compote

cherry compote

The Cherry Compote was amazing. You would never think that caramelizing cherries and garlic together would  breed pure sweet tofu topping bliss.

Tofu Butterfish

( Vegetarian Version  of Butterfish usingTofu )

1 package Extra Firm Tofu cut into 4-5 slices

Canola Oil

Salt and pepper to taste

The book calls for you to pan sear the Butterfish, the great part about substituting it with tofu is that you can follow the same cooking directions given for the fish. Just take a bit of canola oil, heat it in a large skillet and sear until golden brown on each side. Serve with Cherry compote over the tofu.

Cauliflower Gratin

Cauliflower Gratin

Unfortunately cauliflower gratin is not the most photogenic side dish, but it tastes a lot better than it looks, I promise. The best part about this recipe is that I got to try sheep’s milk cheese for the first time. I was a bit skeptical at first..was I going to find bits of wool in my cheese? Do sheep have utters? I am still unsure about the utters but I definitely didn’t find any wool in my cheese.

sheeps cheese

Yep, this is sheep’s milk cheese. It has a mild salty flavor and is quite delicious. There were two different types of Sheep’s milk cheese to choose from; which were France or Spain. The cheese man said that the Sheep’s cheese from Spain was served more often times with something sweet, and the French was more for serving on crackers. I opted for France and have no regrets.

I also topped off the gratin with my own homemade wheat bread for the breadcrumbs. Worked like a charm.

Bread close

Sautéed Kale with Mirin ( Sweet rice wine )

Shoot's R Us 1

Bad picture once again…but Sautéed Kale is delicious ( and nutritious ). It is one of the master’s of the dark leafy green vegetables.

And of course, last but not least…

Dessert

Peach and Blueberry Cobbler

 

 cobbler

I encourage you to pick up a copy of Placer County Real Food Cookbook. Still not convinced? Tune in for next weeks Meal. I will be posting up some more tasty fresh food from the Farmer’s Market every Saturday.

2 comments
  1. Cindy H said:

    All was so very yummy. Feel sorry for those who cannot enjoy this with us. I too recommend the Placer cookbook.

Leave a Reply

